Lawnmowing in Africa

I’m laughing at myself for writing about lawnmowing. I was looking through some pictures for “Wordless Wednesday” and realized that I couldn’t really leave it wordless! Lawnmowing has a story here!

First, long ago, we didn’t have grass.

This was our yard.

This was our yard.

After years of first determining whether we would have grass or not (HAVE), then deciding how much of our yard would be covered with it (eventually ALL), then battling termites (STILL!), then deciding whether we should buy a mower (this is NOT like the Africans at all–a major factor in determining purchases for us), then getting a push mower (you know, the old-fashioned kind), then splitting the costs to share a mower with our teammate who needed one “for LBI” which was on his premises at the time, to now: with an electric mower that’s had multiple breakdowns that we share with our teammates that is the fascination of the village kids when it comes time to mow the lawn.

And finally, the wordless part–cute Callie-girl mowing with Daddy with her homemade toy. And all the other village kids fighting over whose turn it is to hold the cord. 😉 (Incidentally, the mower is broken right now as I write.)

My turn. No, my turn. No, my turn!

My turn. No, my turn. No, my turn!

IMG_0765

Hardworking Caleb. Love this kid!

Hardworking Caleb. Love this kid!

IMG_0761 IMG_0756 IMG_0754

 

 

 

About Amy

I'm Amy, a missionary wife and mother of four children, blogging about our lives and perspectives on culture in South Africa.
This entry was posted in Wordless Wednesday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lawnmowing in Africa

  1. Ann Bedford says:

    Your house looks so pretty with all the green in front of it.

Leave a Reply

