My 1st Kids’ S.S. Party

I’ve never attempted a party for my children’s Sunday School class, but when we finished our series on Joseph on the same weekend as Valentine’s Day, and I happened to have a children’s DVD of Joseph, I decided to try. It’s a little scary on the planning end, because you never know if all of the children in the surrounding three villages will show up, or if no one at all will come until seven hours after the announced starting time.

But the turnout was perfect–mainly the regular church attendees showed up.

They were actually early to on time, and blew bubbles while waiting to begin.

They were actually early to on time, and blew bubbles while waiting to begin.

Still making the cookies as they were arriving.

Still making the cookies as they were arriving.

I recruited a former Neighborhood Bible Time evangelist to run the games (while I finished preparations inside).

Balloon volleyball in the garage. It began raining.

Balloon volleyball in the garage. It began raining.

Colin taking advantage of his mom's busy-ness.

Colin taking advantage of his mom’s busy-ness.

Already using that new family table!

Already using that new family table!

I told them to decorate two cookies, one for themselves, and one for their mom (or woman guardian). We wrapped their best-looking ones to take home and say, “Mommy, I love you. You have my heart.” We practiced this phrase together. 🙂

Watching Joseph DVD.

Watching Joseph DVD.

Lunch--hot dogs, apples, cheetoes, and Valentine's cookies.

Lunch–hot dogs, apples, cheetoes, and Valentine’s cookies.

They watched the DVD while I made lunch, and then we introduced them to the wonders of an apple slicer, and gave some of them a try at apple slices with peanut butter, which they’d never heard of. White people are so crazy! It was a little difficult keeping up with those boys’ appetites!

We ended with another game, and I think all called it a success. If only they hadn’t dampened my spirits by not showing up to Sunday School the next morning. 😦 (Only four of them came.)

Only one girl came. My favorite--Ripfumelo (Faith).

Only one girl came. My favorite–Ripfumelo (Faith).

Last game--tossing a water-filled balloon.

Last game–tossing a water-filled balloon.

 

About Amy

I'm Amy, a missionary wife and mother of four children, blogging about our lives and perspectives on culture in South Africa.
This entry was posted in Missional Monday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My 1st Kids’ S.S. Party

  1. kkkjk5 says:

    Looks like a lot of fun! Great job!

  2. Ann Bedford says:

    Amy I have discovered that there is one way that Africans are like Americans. You said that many of them did not show up for Sunday School the next day. Well, Americans do the same. If we have an activity on Saturday many do not show up for church on Sunday.

    Sounds like you had a great party.

Leave a Reply

