We Have a Walker!

Babies are big news at our house this week. Since the last-born often gets least billing, I’ll start with Carson. We have a walker! Carson has begun taking tentative steps a couple of times a day, though he still prefers to crawl. Sniff. My baby is walking!

His preferred position--don't make me walk by myself!

His preferred position–don’t make me walk by myself!

Bowlegged cowboy.

Bowlegged cowboy.

Though I was highly discouraged last week about our only daughter’s failure at toilet training, I feel I must update this week, whether everyone really wants these details or not :), that I have not waved the white flag. If I take her regularly, I can now avoid most accidents throughout the day; so we have seen improvement! (I wouldn’t call this “trained” by a long shot though, since she does not take herself or tell me about her needs.)

Colin sat in with Caleb for some of the fun parts of schooling this week. I like to think he’s picking up more than I think on those occasions where he’s just tagging along. We’re currently doing activities related to the letter “R” with Colin.

Just today, Caleb began his second-to-last chart for phonics. It’s exciting to think that I have almost successfully taught a child to read! He also began subtraction this week, a new concept to him, but he seems to understand it well with a good foundation in addition. He also “ticks” with clocks now. (Sorry, couldn’t resist!)

Making a clock with math manipulatives.

Making a clock with math manipulatives.

We finished our unit on the fourth day of creation for science. We didn’t have a globe for a demonstration of how the earth rotates and revolves around the sun, so I used a soccer ball—a must-have for missionaries to South Africa. (Globe, no. Soccer ball, yes.) Caleb then drew the lesson and copied some sentences for his science notebook.

IMG_1175 IMG_1178

In history, we said good-bye to Assyria and went to visit the Minoan bull-jumpers and ship-builders. We read the exciting adventure of Theseus and the Minotaur. The boys had fun trying to make a maze out of play-dough, and we played with some mazes in coloring books.

Caleb's monster is in the middle.

Caleb’s monster is in the middle.

We used a play-dough machine to make the strings so the maze would be faster and easier to build.

We used a play-dough machine to make the strings so the maze would be faster and easier to build.

We finished the stories of Daniel in Bible as well, though we haven’t yet reached the Medes and Persians in history. I was personally affected by Daniel’s testimony to three separate kings over two empires, the biggest empires in the world (I think) at that period in history. Nebuchadnezzar, Belshazzar, and Darius all spoke of the greatness of “Daniel’s” God. Isn’t it amazing the way God used Daniel to shine for Him in the middle of idol-worshipping nations, at a time when most Jews probably felt useless and forsaken by God?

We continued meeting the percussion section of the orchestra this week. The boys really liked the crash cymbals. Anything loud and crashy is great for my boys. In preparation for our upcoming furlough, I tied this in to memorizing the names of my sister (who played percussion), her husband, and their children. I myself was encouraged to get to Skype with that very sister this week!

We had another drawing lesson. I’m always so pleased with myself when that happens! I’ve got some easier-to-teach drawing books waiting for me in the States.

This week’s bad news regarding our church is that we don’t have as much money as we thought to purchase fencing for our new property. We had really hoped to at least have the poles in the ground before leaving for America. The good news is that we just found a great deal on fence poles here in our village after receiving some high price quotations in town.

Seth’s recurring back troubles struck again last night after he dug and transported some gravel from the church property. We would thank you for prayers for a quick recovery!

About Amy

I'm Amy, a missionary wife and mother of four children, blogging about our lives and perspectives on culture in South Africa.
This entry was posted in Weekly Report and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to We Have a Walker!

  1. zebranay says:

    Sounds like much is being accomplished with the children. I’ll bet you that Callie comes through with potty training before you come home! I’m sorry that Seth is having back problems again. You are all in my prayers, can’t wait to see you!

  2. Oh, such cute children! I cried when my youngest started walking…hee hee.

    Looks like a good week, keep it up! 🙂

  3. Mary says:

    So cute! Love the bowlegged cowboy!

Leave a Reply

