Changes to Ita Vita

I remodeled Ita Vita this week! I actually liked its old look better; it had a warmer, more home-y feeling to it, rather than this more sterile black-and-white version. The new version allows me to have more neat widgets on the side and a dropdown menu at the top, which was important as I kept adding items to Our Homeschooling Journey. It’s a little more flexible and has slightly bigger font.

Now that I had the ability, I organized things under Our Homeschooling Journey, and added one new article, called “5-Our Journey All-in-One.” It’s a collection of the other four articles chronicling our homeschool journey for anyone who has the desire or stamina to read it all at once.

About Amy

I'm Amy, a missionary wife and mother of four children, blogging about our lives and perspectives on culture in South Africa.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Changes to Ita Vita

  1. I like your drop down header–that’s why I went with this theme (I think), because I wanted a drop down menu. Do you have to copy and paste your posts to make a new “Page” to do the drop down menu? That’s what I have to do, unless I’m doing something wrong, and then my galleries don’t copy. I have to put them in again. Also, I’m having a hard time figuring out how to make my single pictures bigger. They’re the medium size, and when I try to drag the corners to make them bigger, it doesn’t work, so I just leave them. So much to figure out!

    • Amy says:

      Thanks, Tammy! I’m still learning too–yes, I have to recreate my posts as a new page in order to get it up there in the menu. I originally just made pages, but then most people don’t read it if it’s not also in with the other posts on the home page. So I start as a post, and then save special things back up there under pages if I want them there. And yes, the pictures don’t usually copy over the same way, specifically the captions. So I delete them, and re-add them in to correct the text. Also originally all my pictures were smaller, but now I change the size from medium to “large” (when you click on the specific picture in “add media” to add the caption). I don’t know if it’s the same for you. I already figured you had more customizing options, since you have a .com version, instead of the free wordpress version; so you probably have more choices to wade through and learn. Good, though, you can teach me if I ever switch over to .com. 🙂

  2. I think I have the same customizing options as I’m using a free wordpress theme. If I switched to a premium theme I would, but I didn’t want to put any more money into it. I’ll have to try that with the pictures. Thanks!
    From what I understand, buying the domain name just makes sure no one else can take it if you start getting a lot of followers, and it makes your blog easier to find. We’ll have to talk more about it when you’re home.

Leave a Reply

