Home Sweet Home

By now one and a half weeks of our 4-month furlough have passed. In that time we have conquered jet lag and stomach flu and moved to a wiping-nose stage. We have researched three different types of insurance we need (but only succeeded in getting one). Seth worked on business aspects like that, talked with our home church’s leadership, prepared missions’ presentations and sermons, preached a few times, met with friends or family for dinners, and worked on his master’s thesis (due at the end of June).

I got my driver’s license, organized tubs full of clothes for my children to borrow for these four months, went shopping, got a haircut (my hair was rivaling Caroline Ingalls’), nursed sick children, organized boxes and boxes of books for homeschooling that I had purchased and had sent to my parents’ house and packed most of said boxes for a shipment to Africa (aren’t my parents awesome for collecting and storing all that stuff for me?) It was so exciting to see all the things I’ve been purchasing for a year. I’ve heard before about homeschoolers’ excitement about “Box Day”–the day your new curriculum for the year arrives and you get to open it up and see what the new school year will be like. Imagine having all the boxes for the next four years arrive!

In the past week and a half, we enjoyed (besides the pleasures I already mentioned) a school play my niece acted in at the school I attended many moons ago, fun times with cousins and relatives, American ice cream, ham, and other yummy treats, a trip to the neighborhood playground and fast food play place, a library book sale, and awesome customer service and prices.

So are you listed out? What a boring update! I have been missing in action the last two weeks, but that is because of not having an Internet connection. I find it funny that I have better Internet access in Africa than my parents have in America. Our camera keeps disappearing on us as well, but I’ll do my best to keep the updates coming.

We also had new family photos taken! (on the day two of our children had stomach flu) :P

We also had new family photos taken! (on the day two of our children had stomach flu) 😛

About Amy

I'm Amy, a missionary wife and mother of four children, blogging about our lives and perspectives on culture in South Africa.
This entry was posted in Weekly Report and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Home Sweet Home

  1. Yay–you got a post up! Hope you’re having a good time.

  2. Christie says:

    Love the picture! And so happy to hear from you; hope everybody starts feeling all better soon!

  3. Ann Bedford says:

    Praying your next 2 weeks will be better (rid of sickness) than the 1st two. Look forward to seeing you.

  4. Katie says:

    I love the photo! Enjoy all the fun that furlough brings, and try to keep the not-so-fun parts of furlough — like all the sickness (we are always sick in America!)—- rob the joy! Praying for you all!

    • Amy says:

      Thank you, Katie! I heard many missionaries get sick when they come back to America. Must be the changes in diet, weather, and bugs.

Leave a Reply

