Yesterday, Today, Forever

IMG_2649

My favorite plant (I think) in South Africa is the “Yesterday, Today, Tomorrow” bush, named for its three colors of flowers all on one bush–white, light purple, and dark purple. It is so beautiful; and when in flower, it gives off a sweet aroma right by our front porch. It reminds me of Hebrews 13:8 testifying that Jesus Christ is the same, yesterday, today, and forever. So I call it the “Yesterday, Today, Forever” bush.

I wanted this bush at our house to remind me of that truth. For example, He said He would be with us wherever we go (when we go into all the world), and He never changes, so that truth is mine even today. And forever!

We now have four plants–one is a “giant,” which means it should be covered with huge, lush flowers of the same variety when it grows up. For several years, our plants seemed to be duds; but the last three years, two have flowered during our springtime so nicely. The first year, Callie and I matched the bush, so we took a picture. Then in 2012, I tried to get some family photos out of it. This year I kept the tradition going with Callie and I, but she wasn’t very helpful.

2011

2011

2012

2012

Hard to get a good picture with these goons.

Hard to get a good picture with these goons.

2013

2013

DSCN0032

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

About Amy

I'm Amy, a missionary wife and mother of four children, blogging about our lives and perspectives on culture in South Africa.
This entry was posted in Wordless Wednesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Yesterday, Today, Forever

  1. Lois Ruley says:

    what a beautiful bush and such a precious verse ~~ praying for you today~ God bless~

  2. Ann Bedford says:

    I love that bush, especially the name,.

  3. tadtown says:

    Beautiful bush and beautiful pictures!

  4. dacia says:

    It is a very pretty plant and a beautiful family they compliment it well 🙂

  5. Beautiful bush! We just finished up studying about South Africa. My girls and I thoroughly enjoyed what we learned about the country.

  6. Pingback: Back to “Normal” | Ita Vita

  7. Pingback: Typical Homeschooling: Drop Stuff Off Your Roof | Ita Vita

Leave a Reply

