Reading Goals 2014

IMG_0719We like books in this family. We really want to like books, and we want our children to love them.

I usually don’t like making a reading list for the year. Makes me feel too boxed in, and a failure if I don’t read those books. I tell myself I’ve seen better success by just going with what I feel like at the moment. In fact, I didn’t read many of my books off of last year’s list.

As a homeschooling mom however, I’m realizing my inadequacies and have proceeded on a random course of self-education. I’m also realizing my time limitations! Nudged by the example of our teammates—who are reading hounds: making yearly lists, reading them, exceeding them, and writing reviews of ALL of them—I made a list of books I’d like to read this year.

If I’m going to understand some of the subjects and philosophies I feel I need to understand in order to classically educate my children in a Christian manner, I knew I’d better get going now on some of this reading. I didn’t include much Christian fiction, because I’m sure I’ll read that and don’t want to make a science out of it. That’s my leisure reading. But this is my homework:

For spiritual development:

The Quest for Meekness and Quietness of Spirit by Matthew Henry. Meekness is my “word” for the year.

To prepare for logic and rhetoric:

How to Read a Book

AND How to Speak, How to Listen by Mortimer Adler

Homeschooling in general:

The Three R’s by Ruth Beechick

You Can Teach Your Child Successfully by Ruth Beechick

A Charlotte Mason Companion by Karen Andreola

For the Children’s Sake by Susan Schaeffer Macaulay

These latter two are on Charlotte Mason’s philosophy of education.

For history:

History of the Ancient World by Susan Wise Bauer
I love Bauer’s writing style in The Well-Trained Mind, my favorite tome ever for homeschooling, as well as her children’s history curriculum Story of the World; so I’d like to read her adult history series. This volume ends after the fall of Rome, just like the children’s first volume. I meant to read this last year but did not finish. This is on the end of my list for this year, so I’m okay with it if I don’t finish again.

Betrayal by Douglas Bond, a novel on John Calvin (church history).

I also read World magazine to keep up with current events.

For Literature:

The Well-Educated Mind. This is another goodie by Susan Wise Bauer to help adults educate themselves, specifically in literature. I read the first three chapters on an Amazon sample a few years ago, so it shouldn’t take long to re-read the first four chapters. The rest of the book helps you educate yourself in different genres of literature. So after reading those chapters, I will make an accompanying literature list (of classics). Here are some tentative ideas from the middle ages era that I happen to have on my shelves. The Black Arrow, Robin Hood, Arabian Nights, Milton

With Seth:

I don’t have a list right now, but we are currently reading through The Lord of the Rings for our fifth time together. Love it!

For writing:

Wordsmithy by Douglas Wilson

Why Johnny Can’t Write

The Elements of Style by Strunk and White

Some Christian fiction goals:

Some of my selections are on my Goodreads shelf.

Children’s lit

This is not a chore. I love children’s lit! It was my favorite class in college, and I wasn’t even an education major. I need to listen carefully and take notes on a lecture by Susan Wise Bauer (seeing a trend here?) 🙂 on how to teach literature to children. Then I need to begin reading some children’s classics that I will assign to my children in the future, making notes in relation to the suggestions from the lecture. So I foresee another list coming in the future of children’s classics to read, whenever I finish that lecture. 😉

If I have extra time, which I highly doubt, I’d like to start Logic by Watts or Culture Counts by Scruton.

Now just to get the time to read them all! What are you reading this year? Are you on Goodreads?

About Amy

I'm Amy, a missionary wife and mother of four children, blogging about our lives and perspectives on culture in South Africa.
This entry was posted in Thoughtful Thursday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Reading Goals 2014

  1. Pingback: January 2014 Goals | Ita Vita

  2. Tammy Doiel says:

    I put a lot of my books on my goals post–I don’t think I’ll get through all as many are devotionals, but some are better than none. I have no time for fiction anymore 😦

    • Amy says:

      Yeah, I probably won’t get through all mine either. But I need to get through several of them. I don’t have “time” for fiction anymore, and in fact, I didn’t read any fiction September through November, only on furlough but this month, I read 4! (Had to stay up reaaaally late a couple of times though!) 😦 Not ideal! I do want to find time on vacation or just once in a while though maybe on homeschooling breaks, because I think it’s important for me to have some down time with a good story. 🙂

  3. Connie says:

    I love to read and just finished two short Christmas books about the Amish and their Christmas traditions. Read one in two days.

  4. Pingback: The End of All Things (well, 2013, anyway) | Ita Vita

  5. Love your reading goals! I’m reading through the novels list in The Well-Educated Mind (hoping to finish this year and move on to biographies). S. Bauer’s History of the Ancient World is on my 2014 reading list too. Have fun reading!

    • Amy says:

      I noticed your reading goals! I was going to comment but couldn’t figure out how to comment on that page on your new blog format! I’ll follow you on your journey! I’d love to read a post from you on how you find time to read (as well as homeschool and blog, etc.)

  6. We like books in our family, too!

    I am a homeschool mom, as well. (I have a homeschool blog separate from my reading blog: http://amightyfortresshomeschool.blogspot.com). Anyway, many of the books on your lists, I use also.

    And you know Tonia (above), too, is also reading through The Well-Educated Mind, and we often share opinions about the books from TWEM list.

    Happy reading!

    • Amy says:

      Yes, I noticed all of your book challenge groups, and thought about joining one this year, but I’m not sure I can do it. I might next year. 🙂

  7. Pingback: So, Howzit Goin’? (2014 Goals) | Ita Vita

  8. Pingback: Still Goin’? (2014 Goals) | Ita Vita

  9. Pingback: March Goes Out Like a Lion–Fast! (2014 Goals) | Ita Vita

  10. Pingback: Moth-Mixing with the Maori | Ita Vita

  11. Pingback: Ita Vita

  12. Pingback: June Goals ~ Still Truckin’ Along | Ita Vita

  13. Pingback: Guly Joals | Ita Vita

  14. Pingback: Thoughtful Thursdays: "Are You a Person of THE Book?" #linky - Creative K Kids

  15. Pingback: August Goals (Yes, We’re Still Talking about Goals) | Ita Vita

  16. Pingback: September Goals | Ita Vita

  17. Pingback: Belated October Goals | Ita Vita

Leave a Reply

