How to Make a Boat Cake

boat cake

Bake a cake in two round 9-inch tins. Cool for 10 minutes, remove from tins, and allow to cool completely.

Make a buttercream icing, colored 3/4 one color, and 1/4 another. I’ll explain my odd coloring choices later… The pictures I was going off of had a red cake with blue and white trimmings, and that was beautiful.

IMG_1597 Cut both cakes in half. Then cut slightly the round edges off of two of those cut cake halves to make it like a curved V.

Actually, I think instead of cutting off the sides, it should come off the top more.

Actually, I think instead of cutting off the sides, it should come off the top more.

IMG_1600Spread the surface of the two uncurved halves with icing to stick the pieces together. Then stick all four pieces together by standing them on their round side. Keep the pieces that you curved on the ends. It should look like a boat; the flat (cut) sides are facing upwards as your “deck.”

Push two wooden kebab sticks through all four pieces to hold them together.

IMG_1603Cover the entire structure of the boat with your predominant color of icing (the 3/4 mixture, say, blue).

Cover the top of the cake with wafer biscuits for your deck. Decorate the boat by piping icing around the edges (the 1/4 mixture, say, red). A star tip is nice. Use candy to make patterns on the hull of the boat.

IMG_1608 IMG_1609

Stick toothpicks into gummy people and stick them into the top of the cake to look like sailors. We have “jelly babies” here that I used. Make masts for the ship using wooden kebab sticks and use cardstock to make the sails. Stick this into the middle of the boat’s deck.

My birthday boys: there are 5 candles for Colin and 2 for Carson.

My birthday boys: there are 5 candles for Colin and 2 for Carson.

Stick candles into wafer cigar cookies. (I just put them right into the cake.) Use the number of the child’s birthday age. Stick the candles into the sides of the cake to look like canons. Sprinkle blue-colored coconut around the boat so it looks like it’s sailing in the ocean.

Comments or Modifications:

As I said, the pictures I was going off of had a red cake with blue and white trimmings, and that was beautiful. I didn’t have gel coloring, so I didn’t want to use normal red food coloring and have a bright pink cake for my boys’ cake. So I used an “electric” orange gel I had. I still wanted to do the piping in blue. But I forgot to save part of the uncolored icing for the piping decor. So I added blue food coloring to orange, and…it made green. So there you go! I thought it turned out kinda nasty-lookin’, but Colin said, “Mom, you’re the best cake maker!”

I also got impatient and didn’t wait for the cakes to fully cool. That wasn’t a good idea! The back of my cake kept wanting to slide off, so it kind of looked like the back end of the boat was sinking. It is also difficult to frost nicely edges that have been cut, especially if the cake is still warm. The cake pulls off and leaves bits all through your frosting.

One tip for these buttercream-icing-cut-and-rearrange-cakes: once you have arranged the shape of your cake, freeze it for an hour or two. Then make your buttercream icing and warm it up just a bit in the microwave. (Not too much, or it will melt!) It will frost very easily on those cut edges.

Finally, I wouldn’t worry too much about reshaping the edges, or at least not even as much as I cut off. Actually I think I should have perhaps cut more through the base of the cake so that the front edge rounds more, not so much the direct sides, if that makes sense. So I’m not sure I understood that part correctly. If you don’t want to mess with shaping it, just stand the four halves up; it’ll look fine. I didn’t feel that my cutting looked that great, and it messed with the balance of the cakes. I had to try to balance it better by putting it on a plate with a lip, and putting a knife underneath the saggy side.

Creative K  Kids
About Amy

I'm Amy, a missionary wife and mother of four children, blogging about our lives and perspectives on culture in South Africa.
This entry was posted in Tasty Tuesday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How to Make a Boat Cake

  1. Keith Call says:

    Perfection! You should do this as a business! I’d love to be there for a piece of boat cake.

  2. Lois Ruley says:

    Great job on the cake and a very Happy Birthday to all your April birthdays ~~

  3. Pingback: Moth-Mixing with the Maori | Ita Vita

  4. This is great! I pinned it to my cake board!

  5. Pingback: How to Make a Teddy Bear Cake | Ita Vita

Leave a Reply

