August Goals (Yes, We’re Still Talking about Goals)

Hello! Anyone out there who still remembers their New Year’s Goals? I know, I know–we’re still talking about that? What?! Wasn’t January, like, a decade ago? Here’s my online accountability group for this year. It’s not too late to join us! (Well, maybe it is.) Here are my goals for the year and my specific July goals.

Ministry

In June I texted some ladies in the beginning of the month but overall have been discouraged with lack of growth amongst our ladies. (This is the same exact sentence from May and June; but it still applies.) 😦

Goals for July:

  • Order more lip balm pots. (I tried, but these companies have atrocious customer service, and so I haven’t heard back from the company for two weeks.) Finally did this at the end of the month; the wait was all the company’s fault! Ita vita African.
  • Start marketing the lip balm.
  • Host two families for dinner. We only hosted one.
  • Contact and encourage two friends in Joburg.
  • Write down all new chords for our new song book. Plus put them in the computer. (This is a big job.) Only did half of this!
  • Choose songs for the next several months of services.

While I didn’t host two families this month, that’s because my goals were turned upside-down by the arrival of a house guest, which I explained here. She will be with us for about two more weeks, and that’s draining my energy for more guests. I have a bit of the introvert in me, and constant company tires after time.

Goals for August:

  • Start marketing lip balm.
  • Host one family for dinner.
  • Finish song book.
  • Text four ladies in the church.

Marriage

This month (same as last month): write one note per week.

Children

Goals for July:

  • Keep working with Carson.
  • Read to the children for an hour to an hour and a half total each day of break from school. I got about half of this.
  • During our homeschool break, make the Virtue Training and Child Training Bibles. I assembled one, but not the other, as we couldn’t find the Bible for it that I’d planned to use.
  • Change Colin’s clothes to the next size.

Goals for August:

  • Prioritize character training more than academics.
  • Be more consistent in putting their chores up on their chore chart.

Homeschooling

In July I had FIFTEEN things to do during our homeschooling break! (And some of them needed several hours to accomplish.)

  • Research curriculum. (6 items) I purchased several as well.
  • New schoolroom: curtains, bookshelves (4 jobs), paint table, organize and plan it, maybe paint and reorganize the filing cabinet.
  • Learn how to use some of the Rightstart math games (and get them ready).
  • Call MFW with some questions before shipping prices increase.
  • Make some copywork pages. I am sharing them here!
  • Do ABeka’s “chalkboard” section for phonics on my web-app for making copywork. I will share those soon. I got half of 2nd grade done, and all of Kindergarten.
  • Update lesson plans with copywork and book lists.
  • Check for some books here; set up Overdrive, an app I’m hoping will help me get some library e-books. I even got some books downloaded through Overdrive; I am a little disappointed though, in the minimal selection. Much of it is audio, which costs us too many MB on our limited data plan.
  • Make a cheat sheet reminder for AAS level 3. Spruce up levels 1-2 to print out and share on the blog.
  • Laminate the art picture study paintings.
  • Plan SOTW projects and Apologia Zoology 2 projects for the rest of the year.
  • Copy art pages for the rest of the year from I Can Do All Things.
  • Make a Letter of the Week book list.
  • Print the rest of the papers for Letter of the Week for this year.

The ones in green are my goals for August!

Personal

I’m still working on reading my Bible every day, being more persistent in praying for my children, husband, and our people, exercising three times a week and cleaning clutter spots regularly. I want to keep regularly blogging about meekness. I failed this month at going to bed by 10 PM and getting up by 6 AM. Still going to work on it! Really!

I’m also going to work on a menu plan and cheaper breakfasts (translate: more work, homemade) for part of this month. Then I need to paint the bathroom and our bedroom’s closet doors before Seth’s dad comes in September.

Self-Education

Here’s my tentative reading list for 2014I did not finish half of Don Quixote. I’m just so busy… I am going to try again this month to finish it if possible! (Or at least read the first half of it.) I also want to download the next suggested novel, I believe it’s Gulliver’s Travels, to listen to the audio. Finally, I’d like to download some homeschool speakers to listen to for some inspiration while cooking, etc.

How are your 2014 goals going? Still going?

Creative K Kids

About Amy

I'm Amy, a missionary wife and mother of four children, blogging about our lives and perspectives on culture in South Africa.
This entry was posted in Goals Report and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to August Goals (Yes, We’re Still Talking about Goals)

  1. You are doing great! You’re an inspiration. That’s neat that Seth’s dad is coming over. I know what you mean being peopled out. I get that way too. In fact, yesterday I didn’t even go to the beach. I stayed home and went upstairs all by myself!

  2. momssmallvictories says:

    Great job with your goals. I have Gullivers Travels and Don Quixote on my to read list as well. Good luck with getting your lip balm marketed and sold! Stopping by from the goals linkup.

  3. Tammy says:

    Love your book choices and your goals are inspiring. I hope your lip balm is a huge success.

  4. Nicole says:

    If you come up with some cheaper breakfast ideas, I would love to hear them!!

  5. Pingback: September Goals | Ita Vita

Leave a Reply

