A Living Privacy Fence

IMG_0812

Several years ago we bought a plant unknown to us (that’s not saying much…) and stuck it in a random spot in our yard. It was very vine-y and grew like crazy. We’d had the idea before that to try to grow vines on our fence to increase our privacy. We were getting stared at a little too much for comfort. So when the original vine plant didn’t grow, but this one did, we transplanted it.

From one plant, we took cutting after cutting and planted them all around our fence. Now we have a living privacy fence! It is so wonderful and beautiful, especially in spring and summer when it flowers. As you walk up to our yard from the road, you can even smell the sweet smell of the honeysuckle. It’s made our home a little bit more heavenly than before. I recommend this plant to all missionaries! (I think it’s honeysuckle. 🙂 )

Our homemade arch over the gate.

Our homemade arch over the gate.

The view from the road is even more beautiful when there are more flowers.

The view from the road is even more beautiful when there are more flowers.

IMG_0814

About Amy

I'm Amy, a missionary wife and homeschooling mother of five children, blogging about our lives and perspectives on culture in South Africa.
This entry was posted in Wordless Wednesday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Living Privacy Fence

  1. dacia says:

    I LOVE IT!!!!!!! If you ever visit please come design my yard!!! It really is beautiful

  2. dacia says:

    By the way I live in Florida LOL

  3. That’s really neat! Thanks for sharing the picture so we could fully understand!

  4. Christie says:

    I feel like Winnie the Pooh when I say it, but… I love honeysuckle. It’s gorgeous!

  5. Pingback: Well, Well, Well | Ita Vita

Leave a comment