Little Miracles for the Meyers

Bun in Oven

It’s time for some good news from the Meyers family! Our little Meyers Miracle Number Five will be arriving mid-August.

I don’t use the word miracle lightly. I consider three of our five children to be miracle babies. Indeed, every child is a miracle of God’s creativity; but I felt that three of mine were special gifts that “shouldn’t have been” by natural standards.

After my firstborn, Caleb, I suffered two miscarriages. I wondered if I would be able to have any more children. I discovered I was expecting Colin during a time of intense personal and ministerial trials. Having been through two miscarriages already that year, as well as other trials, my emotions were fragile. So afraid that God would actually give me more than I believed I could handle, and that this baby would be taken as well, I went on bedrest and tried to cast my cares on the Lord. I thought of Colin as my gift of hope, a miracle baby, born as a reminder from the Lord that He is good, and that every good and perfect gift comes from Him alone.

Colin

Colin

I fully expected to lose my fourth child, Carson. He came unexpectedly close to my third child, and I prepared myself for another miscarriage. All the signs were there. I stopped nursing my small baby Callie, went on bedrest, and tried to save him; but I told myself my efforts were futile–that it would end the same way as before when I had weaned Caleb in order to try to save a pregnancy.

Carson

Carson

For five weeks the pregnancy threatened to terminate itself, until finally, fully into the second term, we began to believe that Carson might actually be okay! To me, Carson truly was a miracle baby. Even my friend, a midwife, thought I “should” have miscarried him. My memories after his birth have disappeared down a black hole. I have no memories of that time trying to raise four children ages five and under, but looking back I have nothing but praise for a wonderful Maker.

 

Four kids 5 and under! What a number of blessings!

Four kids 5 and under! What a number of blessings!

And now, number five.

2014 was a stressful year because of our neighbor’s continued thefts and hosting a long-term guest in our home. We wished for another child and were disappointed to miscarry after a time of bedrest in October.

When the attack happened on December 2, I was hit hard in the stomach by a rifle. The way my body reacted to the stress of the event and my injuries actually confirmed to me something I wasn’t yet sure of–I was pregnant again. Had I not miscarried in October, that child would have been about five months along and would have been in more danger from such a hit. But now this new pregnancy showed signs of danger right from the beginning. I prepared myself for another miscarriage.

But that was not God’s will! Again at eleven weeks along, while in America, I thought I was miscarrying. A crisis pregnancy center gave me a free ultrasound and confirmed that the baby was growing just as it should be. There was a heartbeat and obvious movement. The technician, my mom (who had never before gotten to see an ultrasound after four children of her own and sixteen grandbabies!), and I were excited.

Through all the stresses of this time in our lives–the attack, international travels, packing up and moving to a new house, Caleb’s broken arm and surgeries–this baby has survived and grown. Again I thought to myself, “If any baby should not have survived, it should have been this one!” I am so grateful that I did not miscarry again. We are looking forward to meeting our miracle baby in August…

If the Lord wills. This I have learned to say: If the Lord wills, we shall do this or that. Praise the Lord with me for the miracles He has given us!

bun2

About Amy

I'm Amy, a missionary wife and homeschooling mother of five children, blogging about our lives and perspectives on culture in South Africa.
This entry was posted in Memories, Weekly Report and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Little Miracles for the Meyers

  1. scrappyfrog says:

    Congratulations! I have been praying much for your family and will now add this pregnancy and this sweet new life to my prayers too.

  2. Ann Bedford says:

    Praising the Lord for His perfect timing.

  3. Connie Lee says:

    So happy for the Meyers family, praying for you all.

  4. Debi Morrison says:

    You are all in my prayers daily. You are one of the strongest young women I have ever known and yes, the Lord’s timing is perfect. I will look forward to seeing pictures of this young life prayed so hard for. Amy, you are such a blessing!

  5. Anita Devore says:

    What a blessing! (We are currently staying with my older daughter and her husband, who have four children ages 15 mos. to age 7.) I smiled at your mention of a black hole. I am sure it seemed that way, but the Lord used you in the lives of those sweet children. I will gladly add prayer for this new life to the prayers for Caleb. How is he doing? Still remembering all of you before the Throne of Grace.

  6. crazy4myman says:

    I can certainly relate to the fears of losing babies. We have lost 5 via miscarriage and stillbirth and still I hold out hope for another healthy baby. It would be so difficult to end my childbearing years in a loss. God has gifted us three amazing miracle children and for that we rejoice. I truly rejoice with you in the health of this baby!! Praising the Lord with you for this perfect gift from Him!

  7. McClinton, Kathie says:

    We’re so excited for the Meyers fam!!! Wonderful wonderful wonderful news!!!! God bless, Kathie

  8. Hannah Corner says:

    Congrats! We rejoice with your family! Always in prayer for ya’ll!

  9. Jenn Ott says:

    What a blessing! Congratulation!

  10. Diana Boger says:

    Just a note to let you know we are all praying for each of you. Is there still any chance of getting your visa fixed over there? Or is it definite you will be coming home? when is Caleb’s surgery? I don’t think you have even been to the doctor yet to determine that so I’m sure my question is premature.

    We had our first performance of God’s Masterpiece last night and it was very good. When Pastor gave an invitation to pray and ask the Lord to save them from their sin and to be their Savior,( he prayed and invited them to pray his prayer in their heart) then he asked with heads bowed how many said that prayer and invited Jesus to be their Lord and there were many hands raised all over the auditorium. 2nd performance tonight at 7 our time and tomorrow morning at 10 AM. these are being streamlined live if you have internet capability you can watch the one tomorrow morning which would be 6 PM your time I believe.

    Praying for you all.

    Love, Dad

    Sent from Windows Mail

  11. Patty says:

    What a blessing to hear your story, Amy. Praying for you all, but especially the newest Meyers baby!
    Patty

  12. Pingback: An Unexpected Return | Ita Vita

  13. Puseletso (NCBC) says:

    Congratulations to the Meyers… Thinking about you. The Lord is in control

  14. Pingback: On the Subject of Cheese, Triage, and Blogging | Ita Vita

Leave a comment