March Goes Out Like a Lion–Fast! (2014 Goals)

It’s time again to check in with my online accountability group on our goals for this year. How was March? Anyone is welcome to join in, sharing their goals and progress either on her own blog or in the comments section here. Here are my original 2014 goals, and here are my March goals with comments below on how they went–or not. Then I’ll add my incremental goals for April!

Ministry

  1. I visited with women twice, and so only made half of the phone texts I meant to; but I prize the visits more, so that is fine! So in April, I would like to simply text or phone 4 ladies (same goal).
  2. I got all of the materials and ingredients needed to make lip balm! (This is our newest endeavor to make money for our church building.) I haven’t yet tried the recipe, but planned to try it this weekend if possible, which will still happen before April then! April–make lip balm, look into labels, ask ladies from church to try to sell it.
  3. Our second ladies’ monthly meeting was better attended. This weekend I need to text the pastors to announce April’s meeting, and begin planning my lesson the first week of April. 
  4. We didn’t have the family over that I had planned, but we did host a young man from Joburg here. I did call an old friend in Joburg. In April I have two families I’d like to get together with, if possible. 

Marriage

Again, I was not consistent in prayer and encouragement, but I do feel that I saw improvement in the latter item. This month, I want to think ahead and do something special for Seth’s birthday.

Children

  1. Be more consistent in discipline and prayer for them.
  2. Be willing to leave the computer (and “me time”) for them.
  3. Do the “fun stuff” and play more games with them.

We did some “fun stuff” with the kids this month, but I feel that I need to devote more time to the toddlers.  This month I’d like to take a day off of homeschooling and go on a trip to a friend’s farm, but I haven’t yet asked if it is feasible. I also want to go to bed earlier and get up earlier, so that I can get my morning work done in time to get some reading and cuddling time with the two littles before beginning homeschooling.

 

Homeschooling

  1. I need to plan Callie’s preschool curriculum Letter of the Week this month. I am not sure if I will start this month or in June.
  2. I want to make a tentative literature plan for Caleb this year of classic children’s books that I’d definitely like to fit in along with the historical fiction we’re already reading.

Personal

  1. This month, I missed about two days of personal Bible reading, which is better than the other months yet! In April, I want to read every day.
  2. Pray more for the children, my husband, and our people. When I do my daily “show-love-item” for my husband, I’ll pray for him as well. I am still not doing this. 😦 I will make a short prayer list and put it in a few places to remind me.
  3. Try to exercise at least three times a week. Log my daily diet regularly online. Failed on the daily logging online. I usually exercised 3-ish times a week. Log online! Sigh. Maybe I should give that one up?
  4. OK, I made a list of all the clutter spots, and will clean one every Saturday. This is doable! I did this! Same goal for April–one area per weekend.
  5. Meekness — I received a booklet on controlling anger by Joel James today, and plan to read that sometime in the next few months.
  6. Initiate with one lady this month (correspondence). I did this with two ladies, but it wasn’t quite up to the standard of what I’d like. Try again this month!

Self-Education

Here’s my tentative reading list for 2014I read the first 4 chapters of The Well-Educated Mind (TWEM), and I plan to follow the plan laid out in there for literature to read. I couldn’t finish the chapter on the historical novel, because I loaned the book to a friend, who then didn’t read it and went on a trip without returning it. 😉 So in April, I’d like to finish that chapter so that I know what to be looking for while reading the first half of Don Quixote (if possible). It’s hard to see how big it is on the Kindle. I also started How to Read a Book, which is similar to TWEM (and precedes it). I’d like to get through about 2-3 more chapters in there. It’s hard to know how to pace myself on some of this!

Also listen to the author’s lecture on literature analysis for children. Check CHOLL and see what kind of children’s lit they have analyzed already and if I’d like to use it in the future. If I would like to do a simpler format to prepare for logic stage literature discussions ala The Well-Trained Mind, make a list of children’s lit to read and write down info per chapter to prepare for those. Didn’t do this. :/

I also read two Christian fiction novels off my 2014 list by Tamara Alexander, From a Distance, and Within My Heart

How are your 2014 goals going? Are you still trying, still pursuing? Or are you more like this little feller?

He got to go to the store with Daddy. Guess the excitement got to him.

He got to go to the store with Daddy. Guess the excitement got to him.

Creative K Kids

 

About Amy

I'm Amy, a missionary wife and mother of four children, blogging about our lives and perspectives on culture in South Africa.
This entry was posted in Goals Report and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to March Goes Out Like a Lion–Fast! (2014 Goals)

  1. Christie says:

    I love reading these, Amy. There were a few similarities between ours this month… so funny. The biggest difference is that you did your reading, I didn’t! Agh!

    On to April! = )

  2. I wish I could be like Carson! Great job! You are an inspiration, and I love reading these as well!

  3. Tammy says:

    I just love pictures of little ones and they can just fall asleep anywhere and stay asleep. I could learn from that. You have some wonderful goals and I hope things are well in your part of the world.

  4. Sandra says:

    You are doing well, the years spent with our children young are important and yet youa re managing so much else as well.

  5. Pingback: Ita Vita

Leave a Reply

